A Fire in the Dark

The most stunning sights do not dim
Or diminish in terms of their perfection simply because
They find themselves enveloped in darkness.
Although the room is lightless and all I can see
Are silhouettes and shadows cast by
The sliver of young moonlight eking through
Our off-centre wine red curtains,
I see you as if the sun were right outside the window.
You’re wearing white lingerie, smiling slightly
And you sigh, contented by the absence of sound
That clears your head for the most finite of moments.
Despite the darkness, you glow like hot embers
Radiant and warm, you fall into me
And all at once I combust, setting fire to the darkness.
I’ll burn until you see your light like I do.

Leave a Reply

