Youthful Sunshine

The summer heat arrived with force
A magnanimous harbour from the
Desolate, frozen wasteland that
Comes with the annual curse of winter.

Yet I find myself reminiscing
In the nostalgic ennui of the
Sepia tone photographs that
I’m left with from the spring.

The palpable feeling of new life
Coming to fruition around me.
The moisture in the air at dawn
So thick that I can taste the rain.

There’s something so poetic about
The gentle warmth and subtle whispers
Of wind blowing through newly-sprouted
Sunset red leaves on a Japanese maple tree.

If only I could capture that youthful sunshine
Just to bathe my heart in that peacefulness
And in the middle of the coldest winter know
That no snowstorm can kill the spring.

Leave a Reply

