green lights

…all the lights were green in my favour
so I walked across town, not once breaking stride
crossing city streets like fingertips over piano keys
I was unhindered, as the wind might stop for nothing
and the lights were green for miles and miles and miles and miles and miles…
… it’s that same wind that brushes my face
that brings me back to the rainy days in love
spent wrapped up in cold air and clean sheets
kissing each other as if it would kill us to stop
and the lights were green for miles and miles and miles and miles and miles…
…and it’s that green that lingers on my mind like the smell of smoke
from the wildfire that has engulfed my chest for 751 days and counting
it’s the green on the trees in the adolescent spring
and those jade-coloured gems that I cherish still
but most importantly I know that green means go
and the lights are green for miles and miles and miles and miles and miles…
and so I’ll go.
Leave a Reply

