wanderer

what a beautiful day.
I mean, I’m treading water in a tempered ocean of
solitary contemplation, wondering if the shorelines
that appear misty and inviting on the horizon are
utopias or just more desert islands where I will
end up feeling even more alone than I do now.
at least here on the open sea I can count the waves
and feel the rhythm of the tide carry me onward.
from here the sun is an indication of direction instead of time
and more than anything I need a compass not a clock
to measure my distance between my lack of location
and the ivy-covered brick walls of the home I so dearly miss.
but my, what a beautiful day it is to be
a thoughtful wanderer, pleasantly lost in the moment.
Leave a Reply

